Kaduna LG Election Updates: APC Maintains Lead


The Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM)  declares the Local government election results for Chikun as inconclusive in the just concluded elections held last Saturday.

The SIECOM returning officer for Chikun Local government, Dr Samuel Ndams, who made the announcement on Monday said, only results from seven wards out of the twelve wards of the LG were submitted.

Ndams explained that the results from five wards had not been submitted at the collation center, saying, after due consultation with the SIECOM headquarters, it was decided to declare the LG polls in the Chikun Local government inconclusive.

Meanwhile, official results from  across the other LG returning officers indicate that the ruling APC maintains its lead in 12 local government areas, while the PDP won in five local government areas, even as results from three LGs are still pending, making a total of 21 LGs.

Muhammed Tukur Bashir, the returning officer for Kubau local government has declared Alhaji Sabo Aminu of the APC who scored 46,535 votes as winner of the polls in Kabau LG beating Alhaji Umar Abdullahi of the PDP who scored 13398 votes.

In Giwa, Abu Shehu Lawal Giwa of the APC won with 57,005 votes defeating Bello Shehu Kago of the PDP who got 2,673 votes as declared by Dr Muhammed Sani, the LG returning officer.

The SIECOM Returning officer of Kauru local government, Prof Musa Yusuf also declared PDP’s Shuaibu Goma, who scored 24,393 votes as winner against Alhjai Bashir Tanko of the APC with 21,564 votes.

Also, John Mallam Lugards, the returning officer for Ikara LG has announced Ibrahim Salihu Sadiq of the APC with 42,312 votes as winner for Ikara polls defeating his PDP counterpart Abdullahi Aliyu who scored 9248 votes.

In Lere, the Returning officer, Prof Aminu Ahmed Muhammed declared Abubakar Buba of the APC who scored 92,854 as winner beating Jumare Tanimu Magaji of PDP with 16, 231 votes.

The returning officer for Sabon Gari local government, Dr Micah Victor announced Mohammed Ibrahim Usman of the APC as winner after scoring 20, 576 votes against PDP’s Suleiman Ibrahim Gambo with 9,580 votes.

Similarly, Prof. Ahmed Babajo Kofa, returning officer for Igabi local government announced Jabir Khamis of the APC who scored 47,630 as duly elected chairman of the local government against Abubakar Abubakar of the PDP with 2,449 votes.

In Sanga LG, Mr Samuel Shamaki of the PDP emerged winner of the chairmanship contest with 20,843 votes, beating Charles Danladi of the APC, who got 19,757 votes.

Similarly, Mr Nuhu Garba, SIECOM’s returning officer has announced PDP’s Peter Agite as winner in the Kachia local government chairmanship contest with 42,242 votes to beat his APC counterpart, Peter Dan-Baki, who got 33, 817 votes.

Returning officer, Kaduna North LG, Umar Hayatu announced APC’s Saleh Shuaibu, who scored 168,572 votes as winner, beating Muhammad Sabo Babayaro of the PDP who got 12,467 votes, while the PRP 4,956 votes.

In Zangon Kataf local government area, Mr Elias Maza of the PDP won with 55,643 votes, against the APC candidate, John Hassan with 31,514 votes.

In Jema’a local government, Dr Arnaold Makeri, Returning officer, announced Mr Peter Averik of the PDP emerged winner with 45,361 votes to beat Mrs Cecelia Musa of the APC who got 25, 973 votes.they

Alhaji Lawal Abdullahi-Tukur, returning officer for Kudan LG also announced
APC’s – Alhaji Shu’aibu Bawa-Jaja with 72,021 votes as winner in the chairmanship contest beating PDP’s Alhaji Kabiru Isiaku who got 3,394 votes

Dr Aliyu Umar, returning officer Soba LG also announced that Mohammed Mahmud Aliyu of the APC who scored 40,903 votes as the elected chairman against the PDP candidate Muhammad Surajo Tukur who got 13,835 votes.

In Zaria LG, Aliyu Idris Ibrahim of the APC won with 42,859 votes to beat PDP’s Yusuf Namadi with 16,033 votes

Similarly, Dr Musa Abdullahi Mahdi, returning officer for Makarfi LG said APC’s Kabiru Musa Mayere won with 25,199 votes against Ibrahim Isyaku of the PDP who scored 13,088 votes.

SIECOM has announced APC as winner of Birnin Gwari local government area but results not yet obtained while our correspondent is yet to obtain the official results for Kagarko and Kajuru LGs, while that of Kaduna South is still being awaited.

Leave a Reply